Calm Thursday

Here in Iowa, we’re enjoying a heat wave today. Especially the students, I think. Happy shouts from below punctuate the silence in my office. One group of young people had a wading pool filled and were chilling. Meanwhile, the most serious days of the Christian faith are nearly upon us. Sunset marks the end of Lent. Three Days beckon.

Inside, we’re prepared for Holy Thursday in my parish. The oils are ready for procession, the day chapel ready for the Eucharist, the tabernacle emptied and candle extinguished, musicians rehearsed, extra procession people notified, vessels and basins for washing feet–all ready. I always have a tingle that I’ve forgotten something important.

I’ve had a very difficult Lent–one of those times I harbor a wish that it will bear fruit in the future because it seems sorely dry from the perspective of the present. I have nothing profound or significant to say, except to wish you readers a prayerful Triduum. Perhaps we can take guidance from the apostle Paul, grateful for what is handed on to us in faith:

Brothers and sisters:

I received from the Lord what I also handed on to you,

that the Lord Jesus, on the night he was handed over,

took bread, and, after he had given thanks,

broke it and said, “This is my body that is for you.

Do this in remembrance of me.”

In the same way also the cup, after supper, saying,

“This cup is the new covenant in my blood.

Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.”

For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup,

you proclaim the death of the Lord until he comes.

God keep us all in the days ahead.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Parish Life, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Calm Thursday

  1. Dr.Tom Kolar, D.A. says:

    Don’t feel so sad. I was the one a few months back who did not go to my church because of the music ( and they have the nerve to put in an envelope for Music besides the other $200.00. I contribute for the monthly collection – and I don’t mind contributing $20.00 each for utilities, and Africa and European churches I donate to that, also – and I am retired and only receive Social Security – and I was never paid much teaching at the local Jesuit University – my choice – loved the kids – until it became co-ed. Men are great.
    Anyway, I hope the Triduum helps you to be joyful. I go to all these ceremonies, because there is not very much the so-called Liturgists can screw up if they follow the Rubrics. I made sure they chanted the correct music for the adoration of the cross this year ” ‘agios” etc. or donations stop from me and the rest of the parishioners I can contact. The ” Exultet” will be sung tonight by a fine laymen – deacon can’t sing.
    I guess you might be upset about the tenth publication in the news papers since 2000 of the child abuse scandal over and over. They repeat the same thing over and over and it is embarrassing – but it is the same stuff from ten years ago. Wow – I was glad the guy at the Vatican and other Europeans had the balls to call it what it is – anti-Catholicism. I pledged $6,000.00 to my diocese, and my Cardinal has not said a word defending Pope Ratzinger, and I have given $3000.00 so far and that is it – and I am going from house to house in my neighborhood to stop contributions to bishops with no balls.They have been accused – of what? My Biology teacher put his arm around me and touched my thigh – My mother Superior ( I was in shows) grabbed me by the crotch to pull me across the stage. Sometimes she got my testicles or penis – she “Blocked Me” for when I sang. I should sue? – I work in a law office – just money makers. The priests have laws protecting them, too, against the Bishop and Pope. Sometimes it took long to laicize, but it is Church Law that protects the individual. Like why are those 9/11 not dead yet? Bill of Rights.

  2. Tim says:

    I don’t see it as the media being anti-Catholic at all. The church leadership has handled the sexual abuse scandal horribly in many cases. To call it anti-Catholicism is simply to make excuses in order to deny the truth.

    • Dr.Tom Kolar, D.A. says:

      I am surprised you are not aware of anti Catholicism. This past week there was a big trial of a Hasidim Jewish Congregation that tried to buy off a boy who had a two year relationship with the Rabbi in New York and another Rabbi who had a sexual relationship with a ten year old girl before his ordination – these things were in small print on the last page of the New York Times. You have a right to your opinion, but as the great democrat Moynihan said not to your own facts. I hate stupidity. Now most of the priests and the one Rabbi were just gays who liked teenagers – but a ten year old girl? How about all the Protestant Ministers? Catholic Clergy are a very small percent of the clergy who are abusers. We just had an Episcopalian Bishop dethroned in Philadelphia because of his brother schmucking a girl 20 years ago. I feel sorry for the Bishop. The girl is a liar. No one ever checks the mental stability of the accuser. My Doctorate is not in this area, but my Doctor friends are from the University of PA. and think most of this is a bunch of shit – except the lawyers – it buys a nice summer home -and they don’t give a damn about the abused kids. Was it in your newspapers that the attorney from New England who was the head of SNAP ( Abused Kids) was disbarred for helping clients make up stories about the priests who abused them.

  3. Tim says:

    Dr.,

    Yes, I have a right to my own opinion. But my opinion is backed up with the fact that I too was the recipient of abuse at the hands of a Roman Catholic priest. Pardon me Dr. for being stupid.

    And what about the priests and rabbi you mention who were “just gays who liked teenagers?” Does that make it any less wrong?

  4. Patti says:

    “Jesuit University – my choice – loved the kids – until it became co-ed. Men are great.”

    Speaks volumes.

Leave a Reply

