Better Than Birthday Cakes

A parishioner and I chatted about wearing red on Pentecost. My new pastor mentioned nothing of it last weekend, but I know we have some people who do it. One or two resident parishioners regularly appear at Mass in clothing close to the actual liturgical colors.

My friend said one year when she was pregnant with her son, the only thing in her wardrobe that fit were a pair of red shoes. They may have been old and worn or something, because they fell apart during Mass.

Rock reports that Indiana’s newest bishop is urging his parishioners (see page three, here) to wear red as a gesture on this weekend’s feast.

I know I’ve blogged on this in previous years. Wearing red or having a birthday cake for the Church: these are fun things, but they lack a certain gravitas. On the other hand, when one thinks of doves and flames, weightiness isn’t exactly the first sensation that comes to mind.

Doing anything special at your parish?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Parish Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better Than Birthday Cakes

  1. Anne says:

    Hope Meredith doesn’t mind that I’m posting this….I love it!
    http://meredithgould.blogspot.com/

  2. RP Burke says:

    We were all asked to wear red, and my wife and I as lectors did so: me with a tie and a white shirt with red pinstripes, she with a solid red blouse and charcoal grey slacks. The entire choir also wore red in some way or another, but not so many others in the pews.

    We also had a set of multilingual petitions for the prayers of the faithful. Those of us who knew languages were asked to translate petitions written by the pastor. My wife translated hers into French; I took the last one, asking for the individual intentions of the community, “in lingua latina, universa ecclesiae”: in Latin, the universal language of the church.

Leave a Reply

