Be Afraid

Don’t look now: after being fleeced by corporations, another opportunity beckons for whatever is left of your disposable income to go down the magical chute that opened for FOCA’s remarkable defeat on Inauguration Day.

Even though I think Deal got the date wrong (we have presidential elections every four years) consider:

There will be a furious and well-funded effort by Catholic Obama supporters to keep Obama in office. By 2010 (sic), the storm will be felt throughout the Church, and those who blithely claim that the Church and politics are not connected will be as helpless as a fallen leaf caught in a tornado.

I guess the message is to be sure you get in on the culture war with your greenback (not green leaf!) ASAP. Before what’s left of the economy blows away.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Be Afraid

  1. Andy says:

    I guess the message is to be sure you get in on the culture war with your greenback (not green leaf!) ASAP. Before what’s left of the economy blows away.

    Since Deal doesn’t mention money in any way, you “guess,” indeed.

    What vicious, backhanded slander this is. You can do better.

    • Todd says:

      Of course Deal mentions money. He reminds his readers that other Catholics who support the president will be sending money to finance campaigns in 2010. Or was that 2012?

      Deal Hudson is in the fundraising business. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with political fundraising. I just think it should be honest.

      Andy, I’m curious. Just exactly how have I slandered Deal Hudson?

  2. Liam says:

    And we pay attention to Deal Hudson why?

  3. Todd,
    I think Mr. Hudson was referring to the congressional elections this coming November, not the presidential race for 2012.

  4. smf says:

    What exactly is the point of this post?

    I quite frankly don’t get what you are getting at, I suppose because I skipped the class where we were supposed to learn the gnostic ability to read between the lines.

    • Todd says:

      Well .. this is blogging, not rocket science. I like to take a poke at the blogosphere every few days, making sure we don’t take ourselves totally seriously.

      And being clear about Deal Hudson, this isn’t about internal rifts in Catholicism so much as it’s about politics. It has less to do with gnosticism (since I don’t buy the Deal Gospel) and more with being wise in the internet world.

      I took my poke, and I got a bit of a response. Nobody seemed willing to give it much more than that, so I think we move on, eh?

  5. “It has less to do with gnosticism (since I don’t buy the Deal Gospel) and more with being wise in the internet world.”

    Heh, heh, Todd. I’m not sure “being” in the internet world has anything to do with “wise.” I think “lucky” or “discreet” is a more apt characterization.

Leave a Reply

