Daily Archives: 14 June 2010

Optimism 6000

For the occasion of this blog’s six-thousandth post, I thought I’d offer some scattered thoughts on the virtue (as I see it) of optimism. I will confess that I find optimism a difficult thing to master. I aspire to it. … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, The Blogosphere | 5 Comments

A Little Argentinian Church

Tom has his dander up about it. I’m sure his commentariat will be crushing Hyundai by refusing to buy their next automobile from that corporation. What do you think? Thud? Blasphemy? Cute? I would have thought the soccer ball would … Continue reading

Posted in Sports, The Blogosphere | Leave a comment

Bring Out the Tromba!

The French want the African vuvuzela banned from the stadiums. Except for the efficient and devastating German side, it seems the monotone B♭ is suppressing scoring at the World Cup. Captain Patrice Evra: We can’t sleep at night because of … Continue reading

Posted in Music, Sports | 3 Comments

OCF 17: The Family Plans

Involve the family, the rite suggests: 17. Whenever possible, ministers should involve the family in planning the funeral rites: in the choice of texts and rites provided in the ritual, in the selection of music for the rites, and in … Continue reading

Posted in Order of Christian Funerals, post-conciliar liturgy documents, Rites | Leave a comment