Conference, Day 1

Conferences can be exhausting as an attendee. Dave Pitt is really putting us presenters to the task this week. After the morning events, it was a scramble for me to get back to my room, retrieve my handouts, get into a shirt and tie, get back for a quick lunch, then be ready for my 1:30 presentation.

I got to the cathedral early to tune instruments and run through my paces to get ready for tonight’s Festival Lessons and Carols. Mike Joncas remarked that 12-string guitarists have nothing on dulcimer players. I may need to concede my ear isn’t as good as it used to be, and get an electronic tuner. I’ve always believed that a musician should know how to tune her or his instrument by ear. At what point do I admit I’m growing older, and for the good of others, not to mention my own time, it’s time to speed up my prep time, especially with the hammer dulcimer?

My favorite piece to play was “Lord, To Whom Shall We Go,”  from our presenter’s first album. Very simple, with the floating chords between E minor 9 and F# minor 7 on the refrain. I used the padded hammers on the low notes, then jumped up an octave to the verses. My favorite of the choral pieces was the Lord Have Mercy from the Ad Gentes Mass. Shades of Stephen Foster, according to the composer. I was thinking of Dvorak’s 9th, second movement.

Tomorrow is a long stretch of a day. I have four breakout sessions after Morning Prayer. Then tomorrow night is an organ recital. It will be good to let someone else play the music.

Some discussion on the MR3, of course. It is the topic of the conference, after all. But the scuttlebutt I’ve heard is that more “archaic language” is being returned to the translation. Also, according to the publishers, if the final version isn’t out by next month, we’re looking at Advent 2012 for implementation. Patience is wearing thin on the part of clergy and professionals. Some bishops will have a very tough sell to get some of their clergy to take this seriously. Lots of workshops and conferences are taking place this year to get things ready for parish implementation. A good number of “non-liturgy” priests will lose patience if implementation is put off.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgical Music, Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Conference, Day 1

  1. Randolph Nichols says:

    I wouldn’t feel guilty about using an electronic tuner. Even the top piano tuners now rely on them when time is an issue.

    As to getting older, I no longer hear the upper range pitches as I once could. When the washer/dryer signal goes off, my wife hears it from the furthest part of the house while I hear nothing. Also getting worse is my loss of pitch recognition when I have a head cold. During those times, don’t ask me to whistle an A440.

  2. Jimmy Mac says:

    I hope you get a chance to explore Dubuque a bit, particularly the newly refurbished waterfront. I was born near there and still have siblings and extented family in the area. I go back ever couple of years and never cease to be amazed at how MUCH house one can get for such LITTLE money. Of course, that’s the California perspective on housing values.

  3. Jimmy Mac says:

    “My bad” for missing the news that there were NO Pastoral or Finance Councils in this parish.

    The diocese is guilty of dereliction of duty by not enforcing canon law that prescribes the existence of a FC in each diocese and parish.

    But I guess if it isn’t abortion or sexual abuse related, dioceses don’t give 2 hoots these days. It’s only the pew potatoes’ money, after all — not that it’s something really important.

  4. Jimmy Mac says:

    Uh, oh — wrong article. “My Bad” #2.

Leave a Reply

