Home Tasks

Sorry for the pause in posting yesterday. We have a home inspector coming tomorrow and my wife wants things to be at their best. I shifted most of my day off to this afternoon and spent the time hauling heavy things inside the house, painting one of the rooms, and trimming my acre of grass. I waited till after 8pm to mow and finished up during dusk, but it was still very sweaty work.

A working family needs to be fed (even the young miss pitched in with a good dollop of dusting, folding clean laundry, stick-picking-up, and dishes), so in between the heavy work and a few loads of laundry, I prepared a nice chicken/baked potato/corn dinner. The physical work makes for a satisfactory feeling at the end of the day, but I have to confess: I would make a poor farmer. I understand the importance of raising kids who can take over the hard chores.

Posting may be light for the next few days. I have a wedding to play this weekend, and I need to get some guitar rehearsal time on a few classical pieces. And as long as we’ve been in full-scale cleaning mode, other tasks loom ahead even after the inspector leaves.

The image above is from house-hunting two years ago. The tree on the right is the one we lost in last month’s storm.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

