Entering the Facebook Era

My parish’s liturgical ministry is now on Facebook. We’ll be devoting that site to liturgical events, information for parishioners, and eventually video and audio clips of interesting stuff. I note a real bias of video over audio in what’s offered on the site. Or maybe I’m just missing something. What if I don’t want to produce a video, but just want to play some good music for visitors?

Anybody have any suggestions on enhancing my parish’s liturgy site? Should I bother with a traditional web site, or can I link schedules and procedures and such all through Facebook?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Parish Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Entering the Facebook Era

  1. I would recommend both website and Facebook. You can link to the relevant website page via Facebook anyway. As much as “everybody” (especially in the college crowd) is on Facebook, they don’t always join the Facebook group (at least not right away). At least, that’s been my experience as “Facebook Coordinator” of my parish’s RCIA program. The more vehicles, the more likely you are to reach everybody.

    Yes, there is a bias against audio. The only solution I can think of is to convert an audio file to a video file.

    I like what you’ve done so far. The pictures look great.

Leave a Reply

