Griddle Sandwiches

I don’t know about you, but I love grilled sandwiches. I’ve been feeling that I’ve lost the creative edge in my cooking these days. After a full evening of meetings at the parish center tonight, I came home to make myself a late dinner. Lo! The edge came back.

So here’s how it went down tonight. Lightly butter whole wheat bread on the griddle. Mozzarella cheese topped with sliced jalapeno (on the right). Then (on the left) add a layer of sliced turkey topped with Russian dressing. And here we are:

Yum.

I like the combination of two mellow flavors (cheese and turkey) with two strong ones (pepper and salad dressing). Another grilled favorite of mine is swiss cheese on cinnamon-raisin bread.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Griddle Sandwiches

  1. Thom says:

    Uh-oh. Are you going to start parsing little-known articles and begging for gifts and cash?

  2. You’ve inspired me. It will be sun-dried tomato pesto on a grilled cheese for lunch tomorrow.

  3. JeCon says:

    Wow…..thanks. You have inspired me to think that even I could cook up one of those!

Leave a Reply

