Daily Archives: 7 November 2010

Surreal Pie

Archbishop Andre-Joseph Léonard receives a chocolate-looking pie at Mass on All Saints Day. In the face. The next day, the prelate’s spokesman resigned. Jürgen Mettepenningen: Archbishop Léonard has sometimes acted like someone who’s driving against the traffic and thinks everyone … Continue reading

Posted in Church News | Leave a comment

OCF 177-178: Funeral Liturgy Outside Mass

You can celebrate a funeral liturgy without the Eucharist. It’s not common in areas with available clergy. 177. In the funeral liturgy outside Mass the community gathers to hear the mesage of Easter hope proclaimed in the liturgy of the … Continue reading

Posted in Order of Christian Funerals, post-conciliar liturgy documents, Rites | Leave a comment

The Age of Deep Liturgy

No sooner was the “Areas of Difficulty” document up at PrayTell than it was taken down. I tried the link as soon as I saw it on Friday and there was already no access. No matter. WikiSpooks is on the … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | 3 Comments

Getting Ready for the Next Round

While I was on retreat, my diocese devoted its Fall study day for clergy and pastoral ministers to the new Missal. I was happy not attending. One or two ministry colleagues have been quizzing me since. Why didn’t I go? … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy | 2 Comments