Inception

Like this reviewer, I had my doubts about this film when I first heard about it. The big box office didn’t help it, either. The young miss got Avatar from Santa in ’09. And that movie, while decent, lacked the sf screenplay chops to match its visuals.

My wife was really p***ed off I used my birthday gift card to buy Christmas presents. (Hey, what can I say? Money is tight these days.) So we had about $25 left on a rebate card and I picked up Inception the other day.

Best science fiction movie I’ve seen since The Incredibles. I can’t remember a genre movie that stuck with me and let me stick with it like this one. Complexity plus fx eye candy and good acting to boot.

My wife said she was going to have to view it another few times to absorb the small details. But neither of us found it difficult to follow. Unlike the decent flick Alice in Wonderland, I wouldn’t have been able to fall asleep for fifteen minutes in the middle of it and wake up to rejoin the story in progress. Or was it all a dream?

Somebody said they need to get Christopher Nolan to direct Foundation. Don’t they ever.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in film, science fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

