Daily Archives: 6 February 2011

Good Thing We’re Not Sports Fanatics

Mid-afternoon today my wife asks if the Super Bowl is on ESPN. No, I said, network, but I’m not sure which one. Uh oh, she said. The basic cable tier has been off and on all week. Huh? I thought … Continue reading

Posted in My Family, Sports | Leave a comment

GILM 3: Significance of the Word of God in the Liturgy

3. The many riches contained in the one word of God are admirably brought out in the different kinds of liturgical celebration and in the different gatherings of the faithful who take part in those celebrations. This takes place as … Continue reading

Posted in General Introduction to the Lectionary, post-conciliar liturgy documents, Scripture | 1 Comment

App Goes To Confession

People can be finicky about confessing sins. Likely it has always been so. It struck me as illustrative that the parody apps came out before the real thing. In the news this week is the release of a Church-endorsed (imprimatur and … Continue reading

Posted in Rite of Penance, spirituality | 4 Comments