Daily Archives: 14 March 2011

Pray Psalm 29 for Japan

Chilling devastation caught by satellite: before and after images of Japan’s inundated communities. In editing this weekend’s prayers of the faithful, I felt at a loss as to how to word an intention. So I kept it simple: For our … Continue reading

Posted in Scripture | Leave a comment

The Armchair Liturgist Wonders About Hosts Misplaced

I received a report from a friend who is a daily Mass sacristan at her parish. She asked me what I would do, but I’d like to turn it over to you–anyone who would dare to sit in the purple … Continue reading

Posted in The Armchair Liturgist | Leave a comment

Cardinal Rigali’s Black Lent

Philadelphia laity are speaking up by their absence. The presbyterate will begin a series of gatherings with their “embattled” archbishop: Meanwhile, as the hearing-hour strikes in Center City, a Northeast Philadelphia parish will see the day’s more significant moment — … Continue reading

Posted in Church News, Commentary, Ministry | Leave a comment

GILM 57: The Commentator

57. The commentator also fulfills a genuine liturgical ministry, which consists in presenting to the congregation of the faithful, from a suitable place, relevant explanations and comments that are clear, of marked sobriety, meticulously prepared, and as a rule written … Continue reading

Posted in General Introduction to the Lectionary, post-conciliar liturgy documents, Scripture | Leave a comment

They Perish Like the Beasts

My parents were big devotees of network news, mainly NBC (I remember Beethoven’s 9th, 2nd movement) and Walter Cronkhite (especially for space coverage). My wife tunes in now and then, and I find myself less than impressed with Brian Williams. … Continue reading

Posted in Politics, Scripture | Leave a comment

Snacking on the Word: Psalm 19:15

In the first Monday of Lent, maybe you’re heading to Mass. If so, the readings should all be familiar: commandments–not ten, but a few more delivered in Leviticus (making a case against the monthly or even weekly paycheck), plus the … Continue reading

Posted in Scripture, spirituality | 3 Comments