Belief Through Her Word

The first apostle beyond Judah? It wasn’t Paul. It was the companion of Jesus from today’s gospel reading:

Many of the Samaritans of that town began to believe in him because of the word of the woman who testified, “He told me everything I have done.” (John 4:39)

It was as the Lord intended, given his Last Supper prayer from later in the gospel:

I pray not only for them, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, so that they may all be one, as you, Father, are in me and I in you, that they also may be in us, that the world may believe that you sent me. (John 17:20-21)

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Scripture, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Belief Through Her Word

  1. Jim McK says:

    “How can you, a Jew, ask me, a Samaritan woman, for a drink?”

    I was struck by this initial reaction to Jesus. The envangelizer starts knowing how inappropriate the whole relationship is.

Leave a Reply

