Longing For God

The line from today’s psalm is perhaps one of the ten most familiar passages in the Psalter:

As the deer longs for streams of water, so my soul longs for you, O God. (Ps 42:2)

But this lament, probably a single piece with Psalm 43, offers a thrice-repeated refrain:

Why are you downcast, my soul; why do you groan within me? Wait for God, whom I shall praise again, my savior and my God. (Ps 42:6, 11; Ps 43:5)

In musical settings, and even in the Lectionary, the preference seems not to be with the natural refrain of the psalm, but with the tender image of the deer. I recommend the full Psalm 42-43 for reflection. It has a lot to offer: tears, pilgrimage, roaring flood, mountain escape, God’s light of truth. I can imagine a three-movement symphony ending with a depiction of the light of God enveloping a loyal believer.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Longing For God

  1. I’m not sure I’m down with the Bambi ethos, Todd. I’ve often referred to the ubiquitous Palestrina setting as exhibit A of stile romantico for classic polyphony, especially when the new motive for “ita desiderat” winds out those gorgeous suspensions. That’s why one just sez “Sicut cervus” and everyone goes “oooh.”

Leave a Reply

