Daily Archives: 4 May 2011

Temple Police of Oz

John Allen’s Taliban Catholics are Bishop Bill’s Temple Police. Rome investigates a bishop. They listen to complainers, but they don’t consult the man’s closest colleagues. Fr Jamie Collins, parish priest, reported on his parish’s dismay: They are devastated by the … Continue reading

Posted in Church News, Commentary, Ministry, Politics | 10 Comments

How To Make a Retreat, Part I

Having grown up in the pre-youth ministry age of Catholicism (the 70’s, at least in my hometown) it wasn’t until I was a college student that I actually went on retreat. Our Newman Community sponsored a weekend retreat each year … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | Leave a comment

Varietates Legitimae 10: Christ “Inculturates”

Jesus himself is the example of “alliance” from the Father to the human race: 10. “The law of Moses, the prophets and the psalms” (cf. Lk. 24:27 and 44) was a preparation for the coming of the Son of God … Continue reading

Posted in post-conciliar liturgy documents, Varietates Legitimae | Leave a comment

Armani Vestments

I’m not super-impressed with the Armani vestments donated to the Church for the use of Bishop Domenico Mogavero. Silk is nice, but I hope the bishop isn’t inclined to sweat. Silk stains easily. Starfish, coral, and sea shells: I  have … Continue reading

Posted in Art, Liturgy | 1 Comment