Daily Archives: 7 May 2011

Britain Resists the Great War

We used to call it the Great War, but in the sense of glory or accomplishment, there is nothing “great” about it. Ghastly would be a better term. Several years ago I read a substantial history of it, and I’m … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, Liam, Peace | 1 Comment

“Pray that I may have the grace …”

For the second time this year, a former pastor of mine has been diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer. Fr Everett Hemann, a longtime friend, has begun a blog to keep friends and family informed. Father Ev hired me in 2008, … Continue reading

Posted in Ministry | Leave a comment

How To Make a Retreat II

As the years have passed and my retreats away have piled up, I’ve made very few converts to the extended retreat. Surprisingly, not every priest for whom I’ve worked appreciated them—but they all gave me the time off. Most of … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | Leave a comment

Varietates Legitimae 14: Peter and Paul Open the Gates

Two New Testament examples for inculturation. First, Peter’s dream of the blanket of unclean animals descending from heaven, leading to the initiative that Gentiles did not have to convert to Judaism in order to embrace Christ. And Saint Paul, that … Continue reading

Posted in post-conciliar liturgy documents, Varietates Legitimae | Leave a comment