My Brother

I received a very unexpected phone call from my sister-in-law shortly after noon. My brother died in an automobile accident this morning.

It was good to move back to Iowa three years ago to be closer to him in his retirement days. Because of our age difference, he was more of an uncle figure than a brother while I was growing up. His three kids were around the ages of my younger brother and sister.

In my young adulthood, he had moved to California, so I saw him rarely. I do have great memories of his 50th birthday–I flew out to San Diego for that. On the last day of my stay, we had an early morning adventure, driving up to one of the world’s best science shrines, Mount Palomar Observatory. Closed, unfortunately. But that didn’t stop my brother from contemplating trespass to get us in the building.

We had a nice phone conversation last night, sending birthday wishes his way. I had been worried about his health the past few years, but he’s looked healthy and more full of life the past several months.

Posting will be scarce for the next few days. Keep our family in prayer, if you would.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Brother

  1. Copernicus says:

    Dreadfully sorry to hear your news, Todd. Heartfelt sympathy, and an assurance of prayers.

  2. Oh Todd, I am so sorry for your loss. My prayers for your brother’s rest and peace and prayers of consolation for all of you who loved him.

  3. Anne says:

    Sorry for your loss. Prayers for you and your family.

  4. David D. says:

    What terrible news. My prayers for you, your family and your brother.

  5. Todd: I am very sorry to hear this and will pray for your brother, his wife, you and your whole family.

  6. Mike says:

    Todd, I’m so very sorry.

  7. Friend and fellow traveler Todd,
    Wendy and I offer you condolences and prayers for your brother and your family.
    Your unwavering eye has allowed you to look at a marvelous creation through many lenses, and I can imagine your brother quoting Dr Seuss with a gentle whisper, “Oh the things you’ll see…”

  8. Commander Craig says:

    As a co-worker said to me when my father died recently, may you be consoled.

  9. Patti says:

    So sorry to hear about your loss, Todd.
    Much love to you and your family.
    Patti & Mike

  10. Neil says:

    Dear Todd,

    You and your family are in our prayers.

    Best,
    Neil

  11. Lee says:

    Todd – I’m so sorry to hear about your brother. You are in my prayers. Is there anything I can do?

    • Todd says:

      Pray for my nephew Hunter, age 8. His birth dad died in a car accident a few months ago. He will miss his grampy more.

      My sister says she will arrange a memorial service back in Rochester.

Leave a Reply

