More Losing

Mowed the grass for the first time in two weeks. I have an old pair of grass-stained pants that were a tight fit the last time I did yard work. They fit well today. It’s not really accurate to weigh in after exertion, so I’m discounting being 22 pounds in the loss column. Last week I was dropping two pounds every three days.

I’m still feeling pretty motivated. Though when I fixed fondue for the young miss last night, I was feeling that sense of loss as I boiled white wine, grated nutmeg (I think I can eat a little bit of that), sliced cheese, and cubed the old bread out of the fridge.

I’m also feeling satisfied with the smaller portions. It doesn’t feel right to be eating a lot. When we went out for a salad the other day, my wife tried to give me a piece of iceberg lettuce. I said no thanks. A good habit to instill: no more grazing off my family members’ plates.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Losing

  1. Good for you. Me, I am still in tight pants, struggling. Prayers your way. For someone who spent 12 days in a hospital with digestive issues last summer and who lost a lot of weight, I am really not living with wisdom around food.

Leave a Reply

