34 to 41 and Back Again

I thought I had given away all my old trousers. I found a small stack tucked away in the back of my closet. They should’ve gone to the GoodWill or the parish rummage sale years ago. Amazingly, I can now fit into the size 36’s. I think I’ll more likely be donating the 41’s I’ve been wearing the past few years.

Diet report: 33 pounds off in 39 days.

Curious thing that I dreamed about cheese and crackers the other night. If I’m going to dream about food, why not a butter-rich Indian dish? Or a nice plate of pasta? Or my sister-in-law’s award-winning blueberry pie.

On the plus side, my coach and I discussed amending my goals. Since I’ve done so well toward my target weight, why not aim, she suggested, for my optimal BMI? Another fifteen pounds–should have no problem knocking that off. 33 down, 32 to go. Speaking of the thirties, I used to wear 34-34’s when I was in college. Kind of a nice symmetry to it all, don’t you think?

Let’s leave off with a nice plate of Chicken 65:

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 34 to 41 and Back Again

  1. crystal says:

    Todd,

    Can you say again what diet it is that you’re following?

  2. Todd says:

    I haven’t mentioned it. I don’t really want to be seen as a shill for a particular program. I will tell you its Medifast. A friend had a very positive experience, and my coach is a trusted parishioner.

    Since I’ve never been on any other diet plan before, I can’t say mine is the best. I can only say it works for me, but probably because of my personal determination (for what that’s worth) and that I’ve managed to be 100% honest with the program–no cheating.

  3. Todd this is great news for you! I am so happy that this is going well, despite your dreaming of cheese and crackers.

    Interesting – I just met and spoke to a woman who is on Medifast. She had a heart scare and went on it based on her doctor’s advice. She has lost about 45 pounds and has 8 more to go. She was at a gathering last weekend and had her own food, very discreetly and politely.

    In any event, I am so glad that this is going well for you and that you have a good coach etc. Keep at it!

    Last year I lost 23 pounds, 10 from dieting and 13 from getting very sick and hospitalized. (I still marvel at the fact that I did not eat a morsel for 12 days and only lost 13 pounds!) In any event, a most stressful year followed and I managed to gain each and every one of those 23 pounds back.

    *sigh*

    For many reasons, your own postings among them, I finally began again and started Weight Watchers 2 weeks ago. So far so good; I lost 5 pounds week 1 and will find out tomorrow about week 2 loss.

    Thanks for sharing your journey. Prayers for you!
    (Hi to Crystal!)

  4. Jimmy Mac says:

    Are you only allowed to eat their overpriced unappetizing mini-sized food portions, or does this one allow you to cook your own according to their recipes/calorie counts/whatever?

    Call me Pudgy in Piedmont

Leave a Reply

