Jalapeño!

These puppies have saved my diet.

I don’t know why my diet plan forbids fruit, yet allows me tomato–which is technically a fruit. I’m not arguing, especially because I get to eat my favorite vegetable that’s really a fruit.

I also don’t know why I can’t eat blackberries, but I can eat peppers. As you may know, peppers are berries.

I’m glad for these warm and spicy berries vegetables. I chop them up to put in my reconstituted eggs. I put them in practically every stir fry: clams and mushrooms, chicken and garlic, and tonight: some lean ground beef and onions. They pretty much banish the soy aftertaste in a lot of the packaged foods I eat.

On the weight front, I’ve been hovering at minus-43 for a few days now.

As for the classification of foods, I need to take my coach’s suggestion to contact the nutritionist and address my questions there. I wouldn’t mind trading bell peppers for blackberries. But keep the jalapeños coming, please.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jalapeño!

  1. Liam says:

    Don’t expect a deeply rational answer. In my experience, there is a heckuva a lot that is a Potemkin village of cosmetic level rationality masking a variety of deeper contradictions. The placebo effect that comes from denying people large favorite food groups would be more rationally presented as “just don’t eat any food groups that you really like to eat”, but it would be hard to market that…..

  2. David D. says:

    My guess is that it has to do with sugar content.

Leave a Reply

