Diet Five-Oh

When I got back from the conference, I found a landmark achieved–my original weight-loss goal of fifty pounds. Now a few voices have raised up that I shouldn’t get too thin. What’s my optimal reaction to that? Dive into a cheesecake? Hoist a beer? Get behind me, satan? As of this morning, my scale notes an additional two pounds. Progress to the revised goal: 52 down, 12 to go. I haven’t been this light since I was a college student.

My diet program is a business, I concede, on some fronts. Naturally they want to keep me stocked in their foods, at the price of about $1.90 per meal. Can I find a healthy granola bar, a piece of fruit, or a flavorful drink that’s more economical? Isn’t that the point of a healthy lifestyle: to consume healthy foods in a moderate way? Have we reached the point where my wife, almost a convert now, might want to start her own great adventure?

On the consumption front, I noticed the recommendation to turn chicken soup into lemon chicken soup by adding a dash of juice. I tried moving that dash to the vanilla pudding. Nice taste, but apparently the acid inhibits the setting of the pudding in some way.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Diet Five-Oh

  1. keving says:

    I’ve been following your blog for a while now, and should have commented sooner. I lost 40 pounds a few years ago, and know what a struggle it can be.

    Congratulations on the milestone. It’s a lot of work, and that’s quite an accomplishment.

  2. crystal says:

    Is it not possible to duplicate what you eat in the program with stuff from the grocery store? Congratualtions on dong so well with the diet :)

    • Todd says:

      It’s a thought. The system relies on portion control, nutrient-enhanced meals, low-carb, no sugar food–all while you’re on 900-1000 calories a day. It’s sure possible, but I’m glad somebody else is doing the calorie-counting for me. And keeping me full of vitamins and minerals.

      The shift to real food and staying at a steady caloric intake: that will be my next step.

  3. Oh Todd, God bless you for all this. You have given yourself, and your family a gift of improved health for yourself and you are treating this body of yours with dignity and respect.

    You have had more than a little influence on my own weight loss journey of late. I have lost 10 pounds since the end of June. It goes slow, but it goes and I find myself surrendered to this process in a very different way than in the past.

    You have really achieved something important by doing this and I think that is great. Good thoughts, prayers and wishes as you journey to the next steps of doing food on your own.

  4. Barb says:

    Todd, you have done so well and I’m just thrilled for your success. It’s not unusual for people to change their goals after they’ve achieved their initial goal with less effort than they expected. That happened to my husband. His initial goal was 30 lbs. After that came off pretty easily he kept going. He ended up 50 lbs lighter. You are definitely an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

