Daily Archives: 29 August 2011

Naturally F

My friend Bob hosted a music session at the other parish in town tonight. We sang through the five Mass settings the archdiocese has highlighted on their list for parishes. No parish is required to do all of them, but … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music | 2 Comments

In A Flash

My hometown hosted two playoff games in fútbol over the past weekend. The young miss and I watched the televised one. I caught the internet results of the other. One involved women. The other, men. One was, granted, a match … Continue reading

Posted in My Family, Sports | 1 Comment

Top Suspects

I’ve gotten a few e-mail notices about Archbishop Dolan’s recent appearance on 60 Minutes. I thought that was months ago. I didn’t take much notice till the weekend, and then I was too busy to probe very deeply. I see … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary, Ministry | 4 Comments

Liturgiam Authenticam 50

Four principles that involve a theological vocabulary: 50. Since the liturgical books of the Roman Rite contain many fundamental words of the theological and spiritual tradition of the Roman Church, every effort must be made to preserve this system of … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgiam Authenticam, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment