Daily Archives: 16 September 2011

Brit Fish

I see that the old/new abstinence from warm-blooded meat takes effect today for the observant Catholics of England and Wales. It’s been a generation since they’ve been given an open-ended choice to abstain in some way. Of course, the USCCB … Continue reading

Posted in Scripture, spirituality | 2 Comments

Liturgiam Authenticam 78

“Less diffused.” A nice term instead of “minor languages.” One of the major criticism of this document is how dismissive it seems of vernacular tongues that happen not to be based in Western Europe. In fact, getting permission from the … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgiam Authenticam, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

Inquiries

When we were sharing the bathroom yesterday, my wife said, “Please stop your diet. I can see your ribs.” I was showering and I had my arms over my head scrubbing. Naturally, bones will show through the skin when the … Continue reading

Posted in Food, My Family | 4 Comments