Calling Doctor Hildegard

This news was welcome to read. I saw it referenced at the Anchoress’s pad as well as the Chant Café.

The Holy Father:

She brought a woman’s insight to the mysteries of the faith. In her many works she contemplated the mystic marriage between God and humanity accomplished in the Incarnation, as well as the spousal union of Christ and the Church. She also explored the vital relationship between God and creation, and our human calling to give glory to God by a life of holiness and virtue.

I have a handful of recordings, mostly by Sequentia, of the works of Hildegard. I confess I found the first disc of theirs difficult to absorb–maybe it was about fifteen years ago. It languished on my shelf for a number of years after a first listen. But over time, as I’ve read more of this saint’s texts and engaged the music, I find them more illuminating. My favorite is this disc Ordo Virtutum, a morality play on virtues. I found this gem in the $1 clearance rack at HalfPrice Books in the Twin Cities earlier this summer. Amazing.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Music, Saints, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

