Waiting is Difficult

Home from the hospital about an hour ago. Snack for the young miss. Walk for the dog. Petting for the cats. Everybody needed reassurance, but the patient headed straight for bed.

While at the hospital I read a whole book, did thirty-some puzzles in a puzzle book, ate a mindless lunch, and when I tried to pray, I dozed off until my wife returned from post-op. I really dislike waiting. I need something to do. When the young miss got her heart patched several years back, I drove my wife crazy in the waiting area. And that was up through the femoral vein, not even under the knife. I can’t imagine being there for the youmg miss’s three open-hearts. They would have to sedate me, and ship me somewhere round-trip.

I’ll get to the daily post on the GIRM in a few hours. I need to hit the pharmacy for some hydrocodone-acetaminophen (aka Vicodin), and maybe the grocery for a bit of comfort food. The latter may be as much for me as for the patient. Posting may be light for a few days. Friday I’ll begin a daily series of a novena for St Thomas Aquinas, my parish’s patron saint. If any parishioners are tuning in, you can begin this prayer on Saturday, as we observe the feast on the nearer Sunday, the 29th. I haven’t heard if Neil is doing his annual reflection on Christian unity. I hope so.

We’ll be getting busy on this site the next two weeks or so. So come back often.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waiting is Difficult

  1. I’ve been praying for you all and will continue to do so!

  2. Anne says:

    Prayers continue….

  3. crystal says:

    Prayer from me too.

Leave a Reply

