Smug

We had a homiletic reference to HHS this weekend, but not a homily about it. I thought it was an appropriate balance.

My concern is when ideology intrudes on the liturgy. Some observers suggest that any view, any person can go extreme. I certainly agree. Charles affirms:

Sometimes the atmosphere of smug indifference and indulgent righteousness is noxious, from wherever philosophical street corner it plumes.

And I would agree the hint would fit my post, if my sentiment about a hope for avoidance were taken in isolation. However, it was not. It is placed in a particular cultural context of the small corner of the Catholic internet somewhat known as St Blog’s. It is a place where, in some corners, hurts are nurtured and magnified, and people indulge in a self-imposed blindness.

I can’t be sure of the best course to blend liturgy and activism. I think we need to pray. I think believers need to be active. I feel disinclined to the kind of activism I see on a lot of Catholic sites the past several days. I just don’t feel at home, or every Christian standing so close to it. I think Max has the measure of it.

I’ll add that a number of these people tend to be sore winners. (Case in point.) I think there are plenty of ways to protest, and even to be effective. I’d like to keep my dignity while I do it, thanks.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Politics, The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Smug

  1. Jen says:

    “It is placed in a particular cultural context of the small corner of the Catholic internet somewhat known as St Blog’s. It is a place where, in some corners, hurts are nurtured and magnified, and people indulge in a self-imposed blindness.”

    …yeah… And I know what you mean about the activism lately. I guess I’m tired of the sum total of our faith being reduced down to genital issues.

  2. FrMichael says:

    Jen, how about religious freedom? Too tired to be worried about that? When a high-level bureaucrat decides that Catholic Charities and hospitals aren’t “Catholic,” it’s time to bring out the rhetorical big guns and call this evil for what it is, even if the Catholic Left Hamlets fret at dotCommonweal.

    I gave a double barrelled shotgun of a homily about the diabolical decision by HHS Secretary Kathleen Iscariot. Read our bishop’s letter about HHS at the Masses. Lots to follow in the weeks ahead. Add the statewide California petitions to abolish the death penalty and mandate parental notification of a minor seeking abortion (all the CA dioceses are participating) and things will be unusually busy in a political way at California parishes this month.

  3. Sadly, because of so much recent bloviating on pretty much everyone’s part- but especially from particularly strident quarters, Jen’s comment and Henry’s comment (in full disclosure, people who I consider to be part of online community for me and people with whom I have communicated frequently) comments make sense.

    Much to the confusion, chagrin and outright anger of others, I *do* think that the HHS decision is an issue. And for some it is the further cause of what Todd mentions in his post called Smug.

    Of course, single payer might have prevented this all from happening this way… just sayin’.

  4. FrMichael says:

    Jimmy Mac, I’m far from the City, don’t worry about it. I doubt you would accidently find yourself in my parish.

Leave a Reply

