The Brackets of Religion

Just this week, it’s Jesus movies and Episcopalian saints.

I suppose if I wanted to jack up the hit counts here, I could run daily polls on favorite Catholic songs. Sixteen Jesus movies? Thirty-two saints? We could come up with 64 liturgical songs for a true “dance.”

I suppose the best way of doing it would be to research those popular lists and come up with the most requested songs of the big publishers. Maybe some automatic qualifiers, like favorite genre or seasonal songs and seed them into brackets. That would be interesting. Then I’d have to do research on each of the tunes, and maybe there’s some energy for that.

64 songs, 63 contests. Maybe 2-3 days of voting for each tussle. Maybe there’s blogosphere energy for six months of madness.

Or perhaps not.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgical Music, The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Brackets of Religion

  1. Not. Or nought. Or knot.

  2. Todd says:

    Actually, I have brackets set up already. Four “regions” of white, red, green, and violet. I don’t have a Bob Hurd song in it, and I feel there should be. I trolled about ten popular Catholic song web sites and posts this morning to find 64 tunes.

  3. Okay, lemme see ‘em.
    BTW, you check out the AWR article at PTB on post-liturgical “religion”?
    I think it’s right up your alley, Todd; quite a compelling thread for all.

  4. You need a combox edit button…
    I forgot-HOW DO YOU LEAVE BOB HURD OUT OF THE BRACKETS?!!?
    He’s da Man!
    Off m’ head…. Ps.42 As the deer longs; I am the vine; Ubi caritas; I have seen the Lord; Come to me and drink; I want to praise Your Name; O sacred head; Madre del desparacido…..could go on for quite a while before resorting to getting off the recliner.

  5. Todd says:

    Which is the best of Bob? The most popular among pewfolk: In The Breaking? Shelter Me O God? Pan De Vida?

Leave a Reply

