Another Crossroads

Whenever I finish a document, I usually post something along the lines of “What now?”

The GIRM was exhausting, if not exhaustive. I’ll tell you a few options I’m pondering. Please let me know what you think of them:

Long ago, somebody suggested I do Humanae Vitae, but to tell you seriously: though I follow the prescriptions of that document as a married person, I’ve always felt out of my element getting deep into moral theology. I’m an artist and mystic at heart. I’d rather stick with my strengths, such as they are, in the public sphere.

I can tell you I’ve eliminated the new Roman Missal from consideration. Other people have already begun good work in that regard, and I have no wish to add my voice to the throng along the well-traveled path.

I will say I haven’t had any urge to stop blogging recently. In fact, I feel positively energized about writing these days. Especially since I’ve ceased reading all but a few chosen sites. I’m still discerning a few possibilities of taking some writing to other outlets, including some professional ones. On the amateur front, my colleagues in campus ministry gave me the go-ahead to initiate a blogging initiative here. So if you want to read about the USCCB’s pastoral letter on campus ministry, follow it on that new site.

Or maybe it’s time to tackle some smaller documents, like Pope John Paul II’s letter to artists. I won’t decide for sure till after Triduum, so offer up your suggestions in a spirit of discernment, if/as you wish.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Crossroads

  1. Liam says:

    What about the Chirograph on Sacred Music? It may be an opportune way to review a century of reform in liturgical music:

    http://www.vatican.va/holy_father/john_paul_ii/letters/2003/documents/hf_jp-ii_let_20031203_musica-sacra_en.html

    The century of reform might also take into account the sacramental revolution of Pius X:

    http://www.ewtn.com/library/CURIA/CDWFREQ.HTM

    and

    http://www.papalencyclicals.net/Pius10/p10quam.htm

    There is also the Ordo Cantus Missae, which is an often overlooked postconciliar document on liturgical music:

    And this tees up the issue of the reform of the Roman Gradual and the development of the Simple Gradual; it might be good to get a progressive perspective on these, which tend to lack for attention from that angle and get entirely defined by other perspectives. Your genius in these things is to combine the micro- and meta-views within the larger arc of reform and continuity.

  2. Todd, even though I don’t comment on your dissection of the documents, I’ve always enjoyed them. I frequently use them for reference. Excellent work!

    My vote’s for STTL, but BOLS would be nice, too.

  3. jonoshea1 says:

    All of the above suggestions sound good. I’d also be interested in your perspective on Verbum Domini and Sacramentum Caritatis, though both are longer works. Perhaps something for the future?

Leave a Reply

