Will You Take A Shine To This Choice?

One of two settings of Isaiah 43 in NPM’s top-four is a polling opponent of a United Kingdom top-ten.

With some David Haas pieces, I hear echoes of others’ liturgical songs. “We Have Been Told” seems to pick up on Marty Haugen’s “Eye Has Not Seen.” “Harvest of Justice” on Bob Hurd’s “In The Breaking of the Bread.” I don’t know if he had “Be Not Afraid” in mind when he prepared the text of “You Are Mine,” arguably his most-loved song among Catholics. But it might be that there is a great appeal among believers in this passage:

Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine.When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. (Isaiah 43:1b-2)

Graham Kendrick penned “Shine Jesus Shine” in two stages in the 1980’s. The composer’s story behind the song from his website:

I had been thinking for some time about the holiness of God, and how that as a community of believers and as individuals, His desire is for us to live continually in his presence. My longing for revival in the Churches and spiritual awakening in the nation was growing, but also a recognition that we cannot stand in God’s presence without ‘clean hands and a pure heart’. So I wrote the three verses and ‘road tested’ it in my home church. Though there was clearly merit to the song, it seemed incomplete, so as I was unable at the time to take it any further, I put it back in the file. Several months later I was asked to submit new songs for a conference song book, and as I reviewed this three verse song I realised that it needed a chorus. I remember standing in my music room with guitar slung round my neck trying different approaches. The line ‘Shine Jesus Shine’ came to mind, and within about half an hour I had finished the chorus, all but some ‘polishing’. Though I felt an excitement in my spirit at the time, I had no inkling at all that it would become so widely used.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in 2012 Dance, Liturgical Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

