Msgr William Shannon

A generation is certainly passing.

I read on CNS that Msgr Bill Shannon’s funeral will be celebrated today in my home diocese.

During my college and grad school days, I attended one or two lectures by the Merton scholar. He wasn’t on the faculty of either of my schools, but he was certainly known by Catholics in and around the Rochester area. His bishop:

His intellectual gifts, lively spiritual life and generous spirit touched countless people, myself included. (Msgr. Shannon was) an extraordinary priest of our diocese.

I didn’t know the man personally, but I can commend his book Seeds of Peace: Contemplation and Nonviolence, a mid-90′s publication from Crossroad Publishing. The threads of Merton (or perhaps I should say the seeds), of the contemplative life, and of pacifism draw together in a profound way.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Church News, Ministry, Peace, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

