Una Perspectiva

One thing I like a lot about Spanish is the expression for certain human conditions. In English, we say, “I’m sleepy.” Or, “I’m hungry.” I will need to get used to using the Spanish verb tener, to have. Instead of I’m hungry, I would think, “I have hunger.” And I would say:

Tengo hambre.

Or if the young miss has been up late studying for her final exams, instead of “My daughter is sleepy,” it would be “My daughter has sleepiness.” I would say:

Mi hija tiene sueño.

It makes more sense to me for people to say they “have” these conditions, rather than to say they are these conditions.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Spanish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Una Perspectiva

  1. crystal says:

    When I took Spanish in high school, I liked all the odd idioms, like “pulling your hair” instead of pulling your leg :)

Leave a Reply

