Daily Archives: 23 July 2012

Translating Sanctions

I was catching news of the NCAA and self-imposed sanctions against Penn State football before hitting the road today. The list includes more than $70 million in fines and lost revenue, no bowl games, removal of a statue, and reduced scholarships … Continue reading

Posted in Ministry, Sports | 3 Comments

OCM Introduction D: A Pastoral Option

As always, I note the kind contribution of Richard Chonak who translated the Latin original of the second edition (1988). What do you make of the pastoral adaptation permitted below? For like reason permission is given to choose among pertinent chants of … Continue reading

Posted in Ordo Cantus Missae, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

Liturgy Snapshots from A Sunday Pew

Whew! Back from a weekend in the Twin Cities. The young miss should be enjoying her first evening under the pine trees of central Minnesota as I type. Before I forget, I thought I’d relate some Sunday liturgy observations from the … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music, Liturgy, Other Places | 1 Comment