FBV 28

Ta-da: Our first pairing of the Twilled Twenty-Seven. Two of these passages weathered close polling in the first round, but one was a runaway winner, the opening line of the 27th Psalm:

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom should I fear?

Jesus’s affirmation of Peter’s confession matches up against it:

And so I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church, and the gates of the netherworld shall not prevail against it.

And another Old Testament favorite, cited by Jesus in Luke 4 when he was preaching at the synagogue. the original is from Isaiah:

The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me; He has sent me to bring glad tidings to the lowly, to heal the brokenhearted, To proclaim liberty to the captives and release to the prisoners.

Take 72 hours to choose the first of the Numinous Nine. Here’s your ballot:

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Bible Verse Poll and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

