Liturgical Trio

I feel certain it was an Iowa rarity in liturgical music, if not a first. I was part of a three-percussion-instrument accompaniment for the parish’s 10:30 small choir. Piano, marimba, and trap set.

My friend Hillary asked the church to house her 64 note marimba for a few weeks, and I agreed with the provision that she play it at Mass. We tried it in a number of ways: four-mallet technique while I went to Communion. Stating the melody line solo for the responsorial psalm. I had to listen carefully so as not to create a muddle of keyboard sound and pitches–I wasn’t completely successful. I would have enjoyed and benefitted from practice. But that’s likely my perfectionism muttering.

I imagine the organ and chant crowd would disapprove. Ah well. They could have enjoyed piano + organ at the early Sunday Mass today.

My friend also has a plan to explore this piece and transcribe it for her instrument. That would be very, very interesting.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgical Music, Liturgy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

