What’s For Dinner

Been cooking the past few days. Don’t ask why; I just get in a mood. With the Iowa heat wave of ’13 in full swing, no idea why the family has been getting hot meals the past few nights.

Tonight, I made an Indian-style chicken:

chicken with amaranthGreen beans from frozen, I admit, at 6 o’clock. Amaranth cooked in chicken broth upper left. For the chicken I sautéed ginger, cumin, turmeric, garlic, chives, and coriander in butter. Then I added a mix of pureed green pepper and pineapple. After that, boneless chicken, yogurt, and molasses and simmer for 25 minutes.

It was only the second time I cooked with amaranth. First effort wasn’t great. Tonight was better. I enjoyed the contrast of savory grain with sweet chicken.

Last night, I used the leftover pasta of the young miss to make a casserole:

casseroleCheddar cheese topped a mix of large shell pasta, chicken gravy, and leftover turkey breast.

The night before I used egg noodles, tuna, a bit of turkey, and carrots. Didn’t get a picture of that dish: the family wolfed that meal down. No leftovers Saturday night.

The young miss asked me to bake a casserole last week. I don’t know where that request came from. I had never done one, unless you count lasagna or a gratin. The tuna casserole recipe in The Joy of Cooking was pretty basic: noodles, tuna, cream of mushroom soup, and spices. I didn’t have any soup on hand, so I thought home-made chicken gravy would be a substitute, and a better one. Apparently, the family thought so too.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Food, My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

