The Spotlight on Honduras

America continues a raft of recent coverage of Honduras with an aptly titled “Sin and Grace …” piece on the blog today.

Our faith community’s sister parish is in the mountainous region of western Honduras. So this is a bit closer to home than other news from the oppressed South.

From what I read in outlets like this and from what I hear from my friend John, there is a sad and dark curtain drawn down on our sisters and brothers in Honduras and other Latin American countries.

The economic empire, that axis of capitalism run amok, that manipulates this curtain is no less vile and evil than others who enslaved large swaths of Europe and Asia in the last century. When will the Prague Spring come for our friends to the South? When will they know deliverance?

Guard me as the apple of the eye;
hide me in the shadow of your wings,

from the wicked who despoil me,
my deadly enemies who surround me.

They close their hearts to pity;
with their mouths they speak arrogantly.

They track me down; now they surround me;
they set their eyes to cast me to the ground.

They are like a lion eager to tear,
like a young lion lurking in ambush.

Rise up, O Lord, confront them, overthrow them!

(Psalm 17:8-13a)

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Politics, Scripture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

