What Draws A Catholic Commentariat?

I surfed to the site of new Patheos blogger Billy Kangas. (Note: he has been an internet presence for six years.) In a little more than a week at the new digs the top commented posts are on Father Z (people trying to figure out why he’s not a lemming) and Sarah Palin (a skeptic–the nerve!). Some people don’t seem to like him. Or aren’t bothering to get him. Or resorting to the usual vocalized suspicions–the guy’s a heretic–stuff like that.

I went to his old site and found a lot of really cool, insightful, and interesting posts. Too bad so many Catholics seem to be in it for the politics. Not for the meat.

This part of his faith journey to Catholicism struck me:

I determined that for one full year I would live like a catholic. I would pray like a Catholic, worship like a Catholic, read Catholic things, buy catholic art, listen to catholic radio, talk to Catholic experts, and try everything catholic I could get my hands on. I wouldn’t judge it as a protestant but would trust that there was value in these things and try to find it by practicing it.

I started going to a Jesuit for monthly spiritual direction …

I liked that last bit.

And I was relieved to find that post got 309 comments. The important stuff.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Draws A Catholic Commentariat?

  1. Billy Kangas says:

    Thanks for the kind words and the close reading!

  2. Jim McCrea says:

    309 comments about ……? Good Lord Almighty!

Leave a Reply

