An Infusion of the Holy into Holiday Music

On the drive to Thanksgiving dinner yesterday, we tuned in to two of central Iowa’s “Christmas stations.” I told my wife about my plan to count mentions of Jesus in holidays music. I think she’s amused by little projects like this. She was more interested in guessing the artists: Tony Bennett, Amy Grant, and the bass-voiced dude who sang “You’re a Mean One, Mr Grinch.”

My unofficial count is Jesus 9, no-Jesus 21.

Two versions of “O Holy Night.” My wife asked if that was Josh Groban, one of them. I don’t know that singer very well. I thought it might be, I said.

The Christmas Tree Cluster, left, will be around for a number of million years. Eventually the gas clouds will disperse and the stars scatter through the galaxy. What kinds of Christmas songs will we be singing then, do you suppose?

Meanwhile, it’s not Christmas yet. It’s not even Advent. You know what day it is.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Christmas, Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

