Reflecting on Ages

As the years have passed, it’s taken me a bit to get used to seeing people born after I was:

  • being my employer and pastor
  • getting elected my president
  • appointed to the College of Cardinals

There are others, but these are the most recent that stick in my mind. I was watching a bit of the Olympics. It strikes me that nearly all these competitors are young/old enough to be my children.

On the other side, my wife and I were watching one of the Thin Man movies last night. There were a handful of elderly characters in the film, and I remarked that they looked old enough to have been born during the War Between The States. Talkies are now just a bit older than those actors.

What would they think of tablet computers, I wonder. They probably didn’t wonder what future generations would think of the drinking.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Commentary, film and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflecting on Ages

  1. Liam says:

    Here’s the deal in the First World, at least: the advent of infant/childhood vaccinations and regular dental care, plus reduction in hard physical labor for weekly household chores (such as for washing clothing, which was a huge effort each Monday, consuming almost the entire day) because of technological advances, means that people who were 75 in the 1930s looked considerably older than many people who are 75 look in our era. Heck, 40 yr/olds looked like today’s 60 yr/olds!

  2. FrMichael says:

    A retired priest (now deceased) told me that he didn’t feel like an older priest until the bishop was younger than he was. That’s a good marker that I haven’t reached yet.

Leave a Reply

