Look-Alike

Interesting news from the popular culture front: the actor that plays Satan is cast into the outer darkness. (For Hollywood, that’s having one’s scenes deleted from the film.)

The ten-hour miniseries is getting trimmed down to a two-hour swallow.

I don’t know. I thought the dude looked like Fulton Sheen. I asked my wife and she said, “The president.”

Producer Roma Downey:

Someone made a comment that the actor who played the devil vaguely resembled our president, and suddenly the media went nuts. The next day, when I was sure everyone would only be talking about Jesus, they were talking about Satan instead. For our movie, ‘Son of God,’ I wanted all of the focus to be on Jesus. I want his name to be on the lips of everyone who sees this movie, so we cast Satan out. It gives me great pleasure to tell you that the devil is on the cutting room floor.

Maybe my perspective is off. I dreamed last night we got a third cat with a snout like a fox and eyes that were positioned too close together on its face. I wasn’t even sure it was a cat.

But Roma Downey can give thanks. For her, it’s all about Jesus.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in film. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

