Daily Archives: 10 May 2014

The Illusionist

This is one of my favorite movies of the century: The Illusionist. I think I would have loved it as a kid. It has just enough of a hint of magic realism to intrigue. Is the illusionist magical? I admit feeling chills in the … Continue reading

Posted in film | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Dies Domini 49: Pastors’ Obligations

Let’s wrap up Pope John Paul II’s examination of the Sunday obligation. This section is heavily footnoted, just to warn you … 49. Because the faithful are obliged to attend Mass unless there is a grave impediment, Pastors have the … Continue reading

Posted in Dies Domini, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

EG 165: Elements and Attitudes in the Kerygma

In  Evangelii Gaudium, Pope Francis continues on the theme of that “initial proclamation.” He seems to reject the equating of a deeper catechesis with a deeper intellectual engagement. This makes sense to me, though I suppose I would be the … Continue reading

Posted in Evangelii Gaudium, evangelization | Tagged | Leave a comment