Where Have All The Bloggers Gone

computer_monitor blahI was reflecting the other day on how much the Catholic blogosphere has changed in the twelve, thirteen years since I started visiting. I used to think in 2002, 2003-ish that it was too late to start a blog. And I don’t know what to make of this site–almost ten years after I finally did start one.

I was especially looking over the blogroll on the old site. And just, wow. Most are inactive. Most of the remainder have changed locations. Few of those links have active blogging with any sort of the same frequency. Maybe they’ve all gone to Facebook and twitter. I know a number of people have been snatched up by conglomerates, or what serves as that online. Patheos, for example, has been collecting Catholic bloggers. But The Jesuit Post doesn’t seem to post very often. Plus the pages on any blog there take forever to download. Sometimes when I forget that, I just jump to another site.

The tone of the Catholic blogophere is still largely the same: some suspicion for people who don’t think like the mainstream. Whatever that may be.

I was thinking that it might be curious to have a “Where Are They Now” feature. But a lot of them are probably still not talking to me.

I have a few blogs that I miss. What about any of you?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where Have All The Bloggers Gone

  1. At least for me, I think that old phrase “life gets in the way” best sums up my blogging situation. When I started graduate school back in 2011, that endeavour quickly dried up nearly all of my free time. Now, living in England, I’m in a similar situation.

    Another thing that I’ve noticed in looking back on my own blog is that over time, my posts have become more thoroughly researched and precisely worded. I think that’s probably a good thing, but the result is that it takes much, much longer to craft a post.

    Be that as it may, I am moving back to the States in about a month, so I am hoping to pick up blogging once again after the dust settles a bit. After all, there’s always more churches to explore!

    • Chase has a good point. As people go through different phases of lives, it becomes either easier or harder to maintain a blog, depending on the time available. It also depends upon the subject of a blog. If a person decides they no longer have anything of value to say about a particular topic, then they will likely just stop blogging.

  2. Liam says:

    J Peter Nixon’s Sursum Corda was the first generation gold standard in my book.

    • Jim McCrea says:

      I second that comment re: Sursum Corda. Has it been THAT long since Peter stopped? Yes, it has.

  3. It is simply a lack of time for me, as more projects come up with deadlines and demands.

Leave a Reply

