Daily Archives: 9 June 2014

Dies Domini 71: Practical Solidarity

We continue in Dies Domini with Saint John Paul getting “practical,” as the outline tells us. As we move into the era of the first Doctors of the Church, Ambrose of Milan challenges our expectations. Even to today, I suspect: … Continue reading

Posted in Dies Domini, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

Leave Off That Last Bookend?

I have three-plus chapters to read for homework tonight, so I’m not going to get deeply theological. But while I was on retreat last week, something occurred to me. I wonder if you’ve noticed it, or done something with it. … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | 3 Comments

Aparecida 40: The Ideology of Gender Reconsidered

Since I wrote earlier on paragraph 40 of the Aparecida document on the ideology of gender, I came across an essay of  Carlos Ayala Ramírez, a theologian and the director of YSUCA, the radio station of the Central American University … Continue reading

Posted in 2007 Aparecida document, bishops, evangelization, Guest Writers, John Donaghy | Tagged | Leave a comment

EG 191-192: Hearing the Cry of the Poor

Yesterday, we touched on the importance of the link between Sunday, the poor, and Christian belief/practice in our post on Dies Domini 70. In these two sections of Evangelii Gaudium, Pope Francis also looks at the relationship between the Body of Christ … Continue reading

Posted in Evangelii Gaudium, evangelization | Tagged | Leave a comment