Light Posting This Weekend

st john's and fountainA nice day yesterday. Here we are in front of the fountain and St John’s Church. The breeze was nice; I was getting an occasional spray from my vantage point at the end of the open space here.

This might be my last post until Sunday night, unless I finish up my last three assignments and hand them in.

The family arrives in a few hours. So we’ll be doing some things. I haven’t seen them in sixteen days–my longest absence in either marriage or parenthood. But they have been supportive of my adventures in the spiritual life.

A shout-out to all you fathers out there this weekend. My own dad died in 1995, so I haven’t had anyone in that role for me. But that’s okay for somebody my age. Before I became an adoptive parent, I had altar servers, choir members, the occasional nephew or niece (either biological or children of friends). And now that I have a daughter, I enjoy the celebration of the day. And it gives me opportunity to reflect on the duties and the joys of helping to guide someone through childhood into adult life.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Light Posting This Weekend

  1. Wow. I recognize Creighton University campus from my weeklong Ignatian Silent retreat and priestly spirituality classes back during the summer of 2009. What brought you to the campus?

  2. Todd says:

    Christian Spirituality Program. You were here for IPF?

    • Yes. I was there for the summer during my seminary formation. I had a great summer there with taking many courses in spirituality and ministry experiences as a hospital chaplain. With the help of a holy spiritual director, I finally discerned to leave seminary formation in consolation to what the Lord had planned for me. See my blog for more detail. That picture brings back great memories. Thank you, God bless and stay holy!

Leave a Reply

