Daily Archives: 16 June 2014

From Music?

A few of my Omaha friends have introduced me as their “former choir director” from Ames. I feel pleased with their regard for me, but in fact, I haven’t ever been in a situation of being a music director in … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music, spirituality | 1 Comment

Dies Domini 76: Sunday in the Liturgical Year

Saint John Paul looks at Sunday in the Liturgical Year with sections 76 through 80. 76. With its weekly recurrence, the Lord’s Day is rooted in the most ancient tradition of the Church and is vitally important for the Christian. … Continue reading

Posted in Dies Domini, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

Aparecida 46: The New Colonization: Individualism

Imposition of alien artificial cultures is an ongoing theme: On a mass level, one may note a kind of new cultural colonization by the imposition of artificial cultures, spurning local cultures and tending to impose a uniform culture in all … Continue reading

Posted in 2007 Aparecida document, bishops, evangelization, Guest Writers, John Donaghy | Tagged | Leave a comment

Finding the Trinity at Playland

When I was a little girl, my father, loved to take us to a local amusement park, Playland. This old fashioned park was shown to the world in the Tom Hanks movie, Big. I can easily recall the excitement of … Continue reading

Posted in Fran Rossi Szpylczyn, Guest Writers, spirituality | Leave a comment