Serving At Their Own Wedding

I just met with a remarkable engaged couple earlier today. They asked about serving at Mass in some way. Since they were both Communion Ministers as students here, I assumed that’s what they meant. I still get the occasional couple that would like to serve from the cup at their wedding Mass.

No, they corrected me, they were thinking of the sacristan’s role. Here, that means helping the priest set the altar, and pouring the wine, and preparing–like altar servers in most parishes.

So I have a young church-involved couple who want to be servers at their own wedding. I asked them why, and the groom said that they would like their first “act” as a married couple to be something significant, something at the altar of the Lord. I was deeply touched by this.

Anybody ever hear of a similar offer from another couple? I sure haven’t.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Rite of Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

