Creed at Liturgy

One memory of forty-four years ago, my baptismal day, was some concern about reciting the Creed. I had been going to Mass for a number of months, so the Nicene Creed was okay in my head. But there was enough to trip me up in the Apostle’s Creed. (I actually heard a priest this summer start reciting the Apostle’s Creed, then trailing off when the Mass went in two different directions on it. Before MR3, people might have gone with it.)

Anyway, I got into the baptistery and behind Father McCarthy, in stained glass, what did I see? “I believe in God the Father …” The whole thing. I kept my eyes focused on the water in the font. I figured I was doing better to take the Catholic thing seriously. I recited the Apostle’s Creed, no problem.

Speaking of MR3, it is approved to use the Apostle’s Creed now. How many parishes are doing it? Anybody have any tale to tell?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Creed at Liturgy

  1. Liam says:

    I’ve been surprised that, in my travels and samplings, I’ve yet to behold a community that forsook the new translation of the Nicene+ Creed for the Apostles Creed. I had expected that, nearly 3 years in, there would be more communities that did that. Maybe more in the Midwest or West, but not here in the Northeast in my very very anecdotal sample. Then again, in my current regular community, the pastor has a habit of including all sorts of penumbra with the sentences of the Apostles Creed during the monthly baptisms at Sunday morning Masses (. Because rituals can’t be let to speak for themselves and percolate gradually….

    Anyway, if one does use the Apostles Creed, please do not substitute “resurrection of the dead” for “resurrection of the body.” They are not equivalent thoughts, but over the past decades I’ve encountered that in a few parishes during the Easter season.

  2. Our parish (inner-city old German church now mostly Hispanic) started out with the Apostles Creed at English Mass because our pastor felt the changes were difficult enough, without saddling people with “consubstantial.” It meant we learned the new wording faster, but also that whenever any of us went to Mass elsewhere we had no idea what to say! Last year, at Advent, we switched back to the Nicene Creed. It has not been pretty.

    If we had it to do over again, I’d have strongly recommended the Nicene Creed… because now the only time everyone seems to be confident about the wording is at “God from God, Light from Light, true God from true God..” because that part did not change.

  3. WHy not have presider say: we cont. now with our Prof. of Faith using the Words of the AP. Creed found on page xxx in the missal….( pausing for all to find…continue )

    • We did that when we first switched over. Eight months later, a few people still open the book or pull out the laminated cheater cards we gave out when we started using MR3 but most just don’t bother and stumble along. It feels rather silly to still need to read it after all this time.

      It does go better when the presider leads strongly. (Our Mexican-born associate only recently started reading it so we can actually hear it and that helps.) Most of us at the English Masses are over the age of 50 and just have too many variations of the wording lingering in the memory, I think. The few younger people at Mass mostly learned it, along with their basic prayers, in Spanish, so they aren’t much help.

  4. FrMichael says:

    I have one priest who uses the AC, the rest of us use the NC, so my congregations get both. No problem at this native-English parish. The Gloria is still awkward.

Leave a Reply

