New Iowa Bishop

CNS reports on the latest American bishop. The outgoing Bishop Franklin, as a parish priest, preceded the pastor who hired me to serve this parish in 1995.

The nice shot on the homepage gives you a good sense of our greatly successful renovation in ’96.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Church News, Commentary, Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Iowa Bishop

  1. Tony says:

    That was a successful renovation? What did it look like before?

  2. Typical post-WWII: altar built from cinder blocks covered with 1/4″ marble veneer, linoleum floors, neon lighting behind the crucifix, a “golden” latticework behind the altar made of wood you could break with a fist.

  3. Gavin says:

    I do like the pulpit and the floor of the chancel. All I saw was the image on the front page, but in general it’s just a bit weird for me. Do they have any other pictures?

  4. Todd says:

    I’ll need to scan my photos and download them. Maybe in a few days.

  5. Tony says:

    I’m looking at a picture of the church (I’m assuming St. Edward’s. We discussed how our original church was “wrecktovated” in an e-mail exchange. I love the huge crucifix with corpus in the sanctuary (not one of those cheesy “risen Christs” or a seated “welcoming” Jseus like we have). But I’m confused. It looks like the Crucifix is facing the wrong way. Am I correct that the people are supposed to sit in the theater seats in the background? Do the people look at a bare cross during mass? I thought it might have been an interesting modification to simulate ad-orientem while remaining ad populum.

    But you’re missing an altar rail. ;)

Leave a Reply

