Tickets, Please!

I couldn’t do this in my parish. Could any of you?

“If people don’t want to use the tickets, they can go elsewhere,” says the pastor.

Hey, come to my parish for 3:30 Mass. If you’re here 45 minutes early I can guarantee you a seat. If you come 10 minutes early, I think we may still have a place in the building for you.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Church News, Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tickets, Please!

  1. Ah, something we can agree on completely!

    And a happy Christmas to you, Todd.

  2. Anne says:

    I’m sure there is some kind of rule against doing this…other than “All are welcomes at my table” and such.

  3. Gavin says:

    It isn’t that bad of an idea. Probably not the best solution to the problem, but it’s a pretty nice problem to have. As for me, I’m busy chasing people out of the choir loft when anything not directly beneath it is empty.

  4. Liam says:

    Tickets are not barred by canon law. Charging for tickets is.

    But what the law does not forbid does not make it wise or good; the practice of requiring tickets should only be done with deepest regret after truly exhausting other reasonable options.

    One of those options might be not having Mass on Christmas Eve, and scheduling more Masses for Christmas Day, to prevent liturgical bottlenecking, as it were.

  5. Anne says:

    “…not having mass on Christmas Eve, and scheduling more Masses for Christmas Day…”

    I think that’s a great idea Liam although I don’t think our community would be happy. Standing room only at our 4PM on Christmas Eve is not for me, nor is our 6:30 PM with children’s tableau (which I thought was gone for good but that’s another story!). We don’t have a Midnight Mass because we are a one priest parish who cannot do everything that he would like to do. Now that my girls are grown ,my family appreciates the liturgy at 10AM.

  6. John Heavrin says:

    I always thought “vigil masses” weren’t supposed to start until after dark. Even then it’s always seemed like a stretch to me (and an ill-advised indulgence of those who like to sleep in on Sundays but still want to think of themselves as having attended “Sunday Mass”). But 3:30 the day before a feast makes a mockery of the whole concept, does it not? Why not noon?

Leave a Reply

