Motumania: More Cannibalism on the Right

Dan over at Holy Whapping presents a thoughtful post suggesting the time for war is ended. Naturally, he’s getting his heels nipped at from some elements of his commentariat. Check out these gems of logic and charity:

How can a catholic be nourished by a rite of Mass that was invented by an avowed freemason …

Did not Paul VI himself say that the smoke of Satan has entered the sanctuary…was he just kidding?

I believe (the 1970 lectionary) is a dilution of the 1962 Missal, and not an “enrichment”.

The 1970 lectionary is New Coke.

I can’t by any means pretend that it’s not plain to see that (the new Mass) was an attempt to unify with the Protestants.

I find your remarks … somewhat naive. You don’t realize just how great was the fight nor how many the casualties.

The Church needs to atone for the “sin” of Vatican II and right itself, or it will be lost

As I’ve said many times, it is easy to respect traditionalists who actually have wrinkled sleeves, smudged hands, and wellworn steps to their choir loft … or wherever they might practice their craft of sacred music.

However, these other reactions post-motu convince me that the Church is in a bigger heap of trouble as evidenced by these symptoms of disunity and an extreme lack of charity. I’m sure the Holy Father would be edified greatly by these comments, don’t you?

Too many of these Catholics have been adopting Jerry Springer or Ann Coulter as their models of behavior. You know, like Phil Donohue demonstrated, there is a value in getting in touch with one’s feelings. You do it. Then you get over it. Move on. Take up watercolor painting or kickboxing or something. Make amends for your own faults. Mentor a child. You don’t keep grinding your teeth, even if the transgression was actually committed against you directly and personally and it was wholly unjust.

Healthy believers have certain admirable traits. Two biggies come to mind. As I mentioned above, they work hard at their passion and their calling, no matter what. They also show a sense of humor about themselves. While some parody sites are able to laugh at others, the real test of humor is when it gets dished back at you. Can you laugh with as well as laugh at?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Commentary, Liturgy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Motumania: More Cannibalism on the Right

  1. Gavin says:

    I always find it disgusting when traditionalist behavior is defended with “well, they had it so rough…” And then the same people dismissing traddie weirdness go on about the evil ADL :P Anyway, it seems to me that despite whatever difficulties they faced, the trads could just “turn the other cheek”. Or forgive. Seems like I know someone who would give that advice…

    The MP is about welcoming trads as a faithful part of the church, and it seems the vast majority of them are taking advantage of that. However, there’s also the segment that won’t rest until the last freestanding altar is buried next to the last Editio Typica of the New Mass. Those people have NO right to celebrate the MP, as they’re just as bad as the Fr. Kumbayas of the past 40 years.

  2. Liam says:

    Todd

    I don’t think these statements – any more that Fr Leary’s hysterics about the MP from the other side of things – are representative of a tip atop an iceberg. The Internet naturally invites a barbell curve distribution that favors the extremes – it inverts reality. Hence my tic to dampen the rhetorical excesses on sites that I frequent.

  3. Todd says:

    Liam, I would say that sometimes parishes exhibit the same inversion. The culture of complaint is alive and well in many places. My pastor spoke recently of the tendency of some Catholics to assume that those who complain the loudest and longest somehow get the action.

    St Blog’s wouldn’t be a true barbell. My blog is about the most radical in the lot, and I’m far from being an extremist.

    I’m thinking that people have gotten into the complaint mode for so long, some just don’t know when to stop, or even temper their ill will when given an opportunity. The sampling above is no doubt extremism, but it is also far more common that is healthy.

  4. Steve Bogner says:

    I had to stop reading other blogs’ posting & comments about the MP; reading too much of that stuff is bad for one’s spiritual health ;) Just my opinion, of course.

    And as a former parish pastoral council chairperson – yes, the complainers do drive a lot of things at a parish. The trick is how to also stay in tune with the silent majority.

  5. Liam says:

    Particularly when the majority is itself all over the map….

  6. F. C. Bauerschmidt says:

    This may be an completely unfair comment, but I get the sense that many of the most vociferous voices appearing in com boxes come from people who have no significant involvement in their parishes and have little interest in what goes into making a parish run apart from liturgy. This is, of course, not universally true — I know that there are people running scholas, acting as catechists, etc. But I suspect the shriller the voice the lower the involvement in day-to-day parish life.

  7. Mike says:

    I was actively involved in my parish and commented regularly. When the pronouncement on gays in the priesthood was issued in December 2005, I ceased all activity in my parish save attending mass. I hardly comment at all now.

  8. Marilyn says:

    So, I don’t understand how anyone can criticize any sincere form of Christian worship… The “extraordinary form” of Mass has been like folklore to me and, now that I have an opportunity to experience this Mass at the Cathedral: At 10 a.m., on Saturday, Sept. 15, I’m wondering what will be different, how will I participate, if I will be given a handout deciphering responses, whether everyone kneels for communion and women cover their head…I wonder if it’s anything I’ll want to experience more than once.

Leave a Reply

